the first few days

We got to stay in the hospital for 2 overnights, which meant that we had all day Saturday and Sunday and left on Monday morning.  This was perfect because we definitely needed those days to figure out what we were doing and to (attempt to) regulate some of our sleep.

Now remember that she was born at 8:51am.  That means that when she was born I had already been up for over 27 hours straight.  And we all know that it is very unlikely that people fall asleep right after giving birth – so much excitement, adrenaline, and craziness.  Her first day was beautiful.  She nursed like a champ (go Alice!) and was perfectly cuddly when people held her.  It was a long day, though.  Lots of visitors, lots of nurses checking on us, lots of love, lots of snuggles, and lots of emotions.  At the end of the day, I realized that I had been up (without more than 30 seconds of sleep between contractions around 5am) for 40 hours.  40 HOURS?!  WTF?!  What was I doing.  I couldn’t sleep.  Alice had swallowed gunk during her delivery and had been spitting up mucus randomly during the evening and through the night.  She was in her bassinet next to me and I was beyond paranoid that she was going to choke on her spit up that I could not sleep.  Derek was sleeping (jealous, right?!) and I knew there was no way I would be able to get any sleep as long as she was still spitting up, so I begrudgingly called the nurse to have her take Alice to the nursery.  I had told myself that I wasn’t going to do that.  I didn’t want my brand new baby to sleep away from me on the first night.  But… I also didn’t want to start hallucinating or something.  40+ hours of no sleep is not terribly healthy.  So off she went and I got two and a half hours of sleep.  Welcome to my world now where it is very rare that I get more than two and a half hours of sleep at a time.

My little caterpillar

My little caterpillar

Derek was a diaper-changing champ.  He was such a good daddy right off the bat.

love

love

 

On Sunday morning, Jenn and Paul came to visit and (very graciously) took amazing newborn photos of the three of us.  They are so beautiful and I am beyond thankful for their friendship, kindness, and talent.  You can check out the full sneak peak here.

This is my absolute favorite.

So beautiful

We had lots of visitors who bought Alice lots of adorable clothes.  Too bad nothing fits her now because our full-term daughter wears preemie sizes… Just a little bitty baby girl.

Guys and babies

My family

 

Derek and his family

 

So, no one tells you about what it’s like when you get out of bed for the first time after giving birth.  Especially when you had an episiotomy and lost more blood than normal, add that to the fact that you haven’t gotten out of bed in like 12 hours and haven’t eaten in about 18 hours.  It doesn’t go well.  You might almost pass out and nurses get worried and get smelling salts ready.  That might happen.  No one really prepares you for that.  Plus, you feel like this.  Gross.  Gross.

On Monday we were ready to get out of there.  I was feeling LOTS better (with the help of my amazing Norco meds every 4 hours…) and I was anxious to get home.  (And poor Burt had been home for most of the weekend all alone in his crate – which he HATES.  Thankfully we have great friends who volunteered to come hang out at our house on Sunday so he could have some company.)  We had to watch these educational videos on infant CPR, Purple Crying (in which a mom was quoted as saying, “I thought I got a bad baby,” in response to her crying baby), and breastfeeding before we were allowed to leave, but once we got the green light – we were OUT.

A family of THREE

A family of THREE

Tiny little girl on her way home

Tiny little girl on her way home

Proud daddy

Proud daddy

 

 

