thanks

I ran across this article and thought that it was timely for me, sweet, and reflected how I felt about my experience.

I have spent a lot of time thinking about how when we are in crisis or in highly emotional situations we don’t always have the opportunity to fully express how thankful we are for the people who help us manage.  I feel like I run into this a lot with my job.  We see hundreds and thousands of kids and families in crisis and do what we can to help them stabilize, normalize, process, and (sometimes) deal with the situation.  We don’t always hear enough “thank yous” or gratitude from people and it can be hard to feel like you played a positive role for them.  I try to have the understanding that people may not always realize how much you helped them until days, weeks, months, or even years later and by that time they no longer have the opportunity to thank you or express how they feel.  I also have the understanding that even if, in the moment, people are thankful for your kindness and support, they still may not tell you.  I am guilty of this to the extreme and it’s something I have been trying to improve on because even just a few words of genuine kindness, appreciation, and thanks can truly impact someone else’s life.  When we were in the hospital I tried very hard to be genuine in my interactions with all the staff and let them know how appreciative I was.  I hope they knew.  I bet it’s pretty easy to get jaded working in that field.  I’m sure lots of people think that their job is all handling adorable babies, but most of it probably is dealing with annoying women that think they are the only person to have ever given birth and that everything that is happening to them is unique.  I bet that would get pretty old after awhile.  So, thank you, Staff at Zeeland.  I tried not to be “that annoying woman” and I hope they felt I was genuine in my appreciation and not just going through the motions.

