first mother’s day!

 

PhotoGrid_1399823996071

 

Alice loves holidays and is very appreciative of me as her mom.  Clearly.  We are hoping to capture her jolly smiles like this for every holiday this year.  It will make a nice little photo book, I’m sure.

It’s kind of nice to have a baby in the few weeks before Mother’s Day. You can reap the benefits of the holiday (yummy breakfast, a nap, extra loving husband, and fun plans) without having been in the game too long.

Alice started the day off right by sleeping from 11p on Saturday night until 5a on Sunday morning.  I, however, woke up at 4:30a and didn’t go back to sleep.  That screams ‘mom of a newborn,’ doesn’t it?  While Alice may be getting better at sleeping through the night, I can only last so long before my own alarm clock (read: boobs) wake me up.  (And side note: “getting better at sleeping through the night” does not imply consistent improvement… the night before, the kid was up from midnight until 5:30a.  And I mean wide awake, cranky, and squirmy.  Really, Alice?!)  But anyway, Alice slept well then went back to sleep until later in the morning (and by “later” I mean 7-ish – any time is later when you wake up at 4:30).

Derek made a delicious breakfast.  He always does, though.  I don’t know what I am going to do when he goes back to work and I don’t get my daily raspberry and chocolate chip pancakes every morning.  That’s right.  Be jealous.

We spent some of the morning and early afternoon outside enjoying the amazing weather.  It’s nuts to think that just last week it was the coldest May 1st since the 1960s because Sunday was BEAUTIFUL.  Alice wasn’t a fan of the sunshine.  Aside from the fact that babies shouldn’t be in the sun, Alice inherited by ghostly white complexion (sorry….) and I have the feeling that we are going to have to go to great lengths to keep her from getting sunburned.  CPS really looks down on infants being sunburned I’m guessing.

babies and mommies

babies and mommies

Isn’t it obvious how much we (and our neighbors) tend to our yards….?

Burt even got to come out and join us.  Burt (or as Harbor Humane Society referred to him: “The Escape Artist”) is absolutely NOT trusted outside.  He can only be in our FENCED-IN backyard on a LEASH.  On a few occasions we have hooked him outside on a tie out with a harness – with CONSTANT supervision because he can even maneuver out of that.  Mother’s Day was the first day that he was actually somewhat less dickish outside.  He only tried to back out of his harness a few times and actually laid down.  If you have ever met Burt you can appreciate how monumental this was.  It was almost like he was giving me a Mother’s Day gift.  We still don’t trust him though… Also, Burt will have his very own special blog post in a few weeks – make sure you look for it.  I’m sure it will have tons of adorable Burt pictures along with lots of use of the words dick and escape.

little burt burt

little burt burt enjoying the day

I spent some of the morning working on a project for our moms from Alice.  Cute little pots with her hand print.  This spilled into the next day because the paint took forever to dry and Alice wasn’t exactly loving her role in the craft.

20140513_141403

In the afternoon we went to Meijer Gardens.  Can you believe that I have lived in Grand Rapids for 10 years and I have never been to Meijer Gardens?  Can you believe that Derek has lived here his whole life and never been there?  Wow… sad.  So we went.  We got a membership and I’m super excited to get to go back lots of times over the next year.

We didn’t stay too long because it was about a million degrees outside and we weren’t prepared for that.  But the time we were there was wonderful.  Alice was wide awake for most of the trip but was stuck inside her stroller because of the sun so she missed the fun.

beautiful day

beautiful day

brave little bunny

brave little bunny

Derek: “There are literally thousands of different kinds of plants here and you take a picture of a bunny?  We have bunnies in our backyard.”

Laura: “But this is a BRAVE bunny.  Look.  It’s out here with all these people.  We don’t have brave  bunnies in our yard.”

pretty tulips

pretty tulips

 

turtles

turtles

There was this little turtle who spent forever trying to get on that raft.  He just couldn’t get it.  He drew quite a crowd of people cheering him on.  He never made it… Sorry buddy.

enjoying the trip

enjoying the trip

it was soooo warm

it was soooo warm – ignore my grossness

carnivorous

carnivorous

Amanda, Derek made me take this picture.  He wanted me to text it to you in the moment and thought it was hilarious.  You’re welcome for helping him keep it under control.

After getting home, Alice needed some naked baby time to help cool off.  We weren’t complaining because she’s so darn cute.

little chunk

little chunk

so sweet

so sweet

 

Derek also surprised me with sewing classes (something I’ve been wanting to learn) and plans to go to Paint a Pot and make coffee mugs with Alice.  My parents sent me a Gardenia plant and a wonderful note.  And Derek’s mom sent me a card with a sweet message.

i vow to take good care of this, mom!

i vow to take good care of this, mom!

nosey cat

nosey cat

The whole idea of Mother’s Day obviously has a completely new meaning to me now.  Being a parent  has really made me realize just how much my parents love me.  It’s hard to imagine yourself as a baby and your parents as new parents.  I’ve always known them as parents and it wasn’t until recently that I really processed the fact that they were just people before I was born.  They went through the same transitions, same worries, same happiness, and same love that we are going through now.  It really makes me appreciate their love for me even more than I already did.

I was only able to celebrate Mother’s Day because of my amazing little girl.  She is the reason for the day, not me.  I spent so much of the day really thinking about how lucky I am.  I have an amazing husband who takes such good care of Alice and me.  And an adorable little girl who, despite being a fussy little thing, has brought so much happiness into my life.  I didn’t realize how much love I could have for someone else and it surprises me how much I love being a mom.  I was worried that I would feel overwhelmed, frustrated, and scared and that I would have a hard time feeling like I could take on the role.  The weird thing is that I do feel these things, but they are enveloped in so much love and happiness that they barely even matter.  She’s such a wonderful and amazing little girl and I am so happy to be her mom.   I love watching her grow and learn and master new skills.  She smiles at us now and it honestly melts my heart every time.  I love watching Derek with her.   My favorite thing is when I can hear him in another room talking to her or singing her songs.  I start to tear up just thinking about it.

 

2014-05-11 09.23.45

“Making the decision to have a child is a momentous moment: It is to decide forever to have your heart go walking around outside your body.”

20140511_092140

Here’s one last picture of Alice for giggles.

HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY!

 

 

 

 

One thought on “first mother’s day!

  1. Pingback: {two months old!} | Delightfully Doughty

Comments are closed.