baby-proofing 101

I decided that today we were going to hang out in all of the house while I did some chores. Alice has spent minimal time outside of the den and kitchen because it is so cold in the house. But it was a little warmer today so I thought we could venture out.

Result: Other than the den, this house is not child-proofed even a teensy tiny bit…

She pulled all the jewelry out of my closet, took everything out of the bin I had in the closet, emptied grocery bags full of cans were are too lazy to put away in the 20 degree pantry, went for the pet water 100 times, tried to climb through tables…

image

image

image

and her favorite : CLIMB THE STAIRS AT LIGHTNING SPEED.  And I mean LIGHTNING speed.  This kid can climb stairs probably faster than I can. 

So I had to bust out a gate. If you are in the market for a gate, for the love of all things holy, don’t buy the wooden ones.  Yea, they are cheaper, but good grief, how do they work?! I can’t tell you how long I have spent trying to get one to fit a doorway. But since our good (and user-friendly) gate is in permanent use to keep Burt from snacking on cat turds, I had to use the devil gate.  I gave up trying to get it to work properly and “installed” it the best way that you can install a shitty gate like this… I laid it on the stairs and called it done. Don’t judge.

image

image

Needless to say, Alice was pissed (yes, pissed is the best word to describe her emotions, even if she is only 11 months old) that I put an end to her climbing adventures.  Sorry, kid, but I’m not interested in you falling from 5 stairs up and bashing your nog open. I know, what a mean mom…

